03-80687788 info@mepa.my

ASEAN Energy Management Scheme (AEMAS)

ASEAN Energy Management Scheme (AEMAS)

AEMAS was designed under the steering of the ASEAN Energy Efficiency and Conversation Sub-Sector Network and subsequently endorsed by the ASEAN Minister of Energy Meeting (AMEM).

The overall objectives of the scheme are:

1) To reduce energy consumption from the manufacturing industrial sector in ASEAN
2) To reduce emissions of greenhouse gases in ASEAN
3) To increase the professional standing of accredited energy managers

This scheme is the world’s first regional certification system for energy managers and energy end users. Partly funded by the European Union under the Switch Programmed, it is currently being implemented by ASEAN Centre for Energy (ACE) in eight (8) ASEAN Member States, namely: Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam. In the national level, the scheme was launched by Yang Berhormat Dato’ Seri Peter Chin Fah Kui, Minister of Energy, Green Technology and Water Malaysia on 19th July 2011 at Marriot Hotel, Putrajaya.

Under this Scheme, two main activities were;

1) Training and Certification of Energy Manager and;
2) Certification of Energy End-User.

Training and Certification of Energy Manager

This training curriculum focused exclusively on managerial aspects. It also recognized by the Suruhanjaya Tenaga and the Certified Energy Manager (CEM) under this scheme can apply for conversate on to Registered Electrical Energy Manager (REEM). As of 1st June 2018, 70 EMTC sessions was held and more than 1315 CEM has been trained.

Certification of Energy End-Users

The Energy Management Gold Standard (EMGS) is the energy management system brand under AEMAS for energy end-users that will undergo AEMAS Certification. This is three level certifications where it can progressively drive toward energy management best practice. EMGS and ISO 15001 are similar; the only difference is that EMGS certification requires end-user to demonstrate actual implementation of energy saving measures, which is not required under ISO 15001. As of 1st June 2018, 99 organizations have been certified with 1 Star EMGS, 5 organizations have been certified with 2 Star EMGS and 1 organization has been certified with 3 Star EMGS.

Looking to join us but have a few questions?

Malaysian Energy Professionals Association


Address :
F-02-03, Blok F, Jalan Prima 5/3, Persiaran Prima Utama, Taman Puchong Prima Utama, 47100 Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia.

Office : 03-80687788 / 7878

Email : info@mepa.my